Can't see this email? View in Browser



June 20, 2024.

CPAA 2024-2025 Board of Directors

As the Chair of the CPAA, I am pleased to present the 2024/2025 Board of Directors. I would like to welcome our newest members Celina Newberry, Baily Lapp, Sean Adams, and Molly Fyten and our student members Poorva Jain, Stacey Florendo and Deanna Andreschefski.

CPAA 2024/2025 Board of Directors:

Geoff Tiffin, County of Newell, Chair Robert Nygaard, Big Lakes County, Vice Chair North Daniel MacGregor, Stantec, Vice Chair South Dnyanesh Deshpande, Green Space Alliance, Treasurer

Nick Pryce, V3 Group of Companies, Director Kristen Harder, Dillon Consulting Limited, Director Bob Chrenek, County of Grande Prairie, Director Kyle Whifield, University of Alberta, Director Baily Lapp, Beairsto & Associates Engineering Ltd Celina Newberry, Town of Taber Sean Adams, Rural Development Network Molly Fyten, MD Lesser Slave River

Stacy Florendo, University of Calgary, Student Director Deanna Andreschefski, University of Lethbridge, Student Director Poorva Jain, University of Alberta, Student Director

CPAA Board of Directors | CPA Alberta

CPAA Strategic Retreat 2024

CPAA Strategic Meeting: Key Insights and Future Plans

Dates: June 1-2, 2024 Location: Red Deer, Alberta

The CPAA held a productive strategic meeting where key insights were discussed, and future plans were outlined. This gathering was essential for shaping the direction and priorities for the coming year.



From left to right: Winifred Uwakwe, Poorva Jain, Dnyanesh Deshpande, Kristen Harder, Daniel MacGregor, Kyle Whitfield, Sean Adams, Celina Newberry, Nick Pryce, Baily Lapp, Geoff Tiffin, Robert Nygaard, Molly Fyten.

CPAA and IAMA: A New Collaboration on the Horizon

Upcoming Event: June 26 Workshop in Calgary Location: Hotel Clique Calgary Airport, 24 Aero Crescent NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7Y5



We are excited to announce a budding collaboration between CPAA and IAMA. As part of this initiative, IAMA is offering a free registration to a CPAA representative for their upcoming workshop. This partnership aims to foster long-term collaboration and alignment between our disciplines within a municipal context.

Read more here about the workshop.

2024 CPAA Conference

Beyond Municipal Boarders: Collaborating for Vibrant Communities

April 29 - May 1, 2024 Red Deer Resort & Casino, Red Deer.

Thank you to our Speakers, Sponsors, Delegates and Conference Committee!

We extend our heartfelt thanks for your invaluable contributions to the success of the CPAA 2024 conference. Your participation and support were truly appreciated.

The session presentations are now available:

2024 CPAA Conference Presentations | CPA Alberta

2024 Silent Auction

The Silent Auction proceeds netted \$950.00. Thank you!

The silent auction supports the CPAA Student Scholarships: Up to three (3) \$1,000.00 prizes to students pursuing a post-secondary education in community planning. Thank you to our delegates for their generous contributions of unique items to our silent auction.

Community Planning Achievement Award

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2024 Award!

Town of Westlock

The CPAA Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2024 Community Achievement Award, which aims to recognize excellence in community planning across Alberta. This year, we received submissions from two outstanding communities, Lacombe County and Town of Westlock.

After careful consideration, the Committee selected the Town of Westlock as this year's recipient. Their comprehensive approach to community planning stood out, showcasing exemplary dedication to enhancing quality of life and fostering opportunities for all residents. The project's significant community benefits, positive impacts on local businesses and residents, and the collaborative spirit demonstrated among various stakeholders and local government representatives were pivotal factors in their selection.

We extend our congratulations to the Town of Westlock for their outstanding achievement and commend all participants for their commitment to advancing community planning in Alberta.

CPAA Community Achievement Award

Community Planning Project Draw Award

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2024 Project Draw!

Bloom Tree Foundation

During the conference, delegates were invited to nominate charities for a chance to receive a \$500 award.

We are delighted to inform you that the Broom Tree Foundation, presented by Nancy Hackett from the City of Lacombe, has been selected as the recipient of this year's award. Their dedication to community service and impactful initiatives has truly made a difference.

A donation of \$500.00 will be sent to the Broom Tree Foundation to support their ongoing efforts in the community.

Thank you to everyone who participated in nominating charities and contributing to this meaningful initiative.

Student Scholarships

CPAA Tom Baldwin Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Planning 2023 recipient - Keaghan Rowland, University of Calgary

The receipient of the University of Lethbridge Scholarship is - Kirsten Hironaka, University of Lethbridge

Recipient for the University of Alberta has not been announced as winner will be determined by the University by the end of September 2024.

CPAA Awards and Scholarships | CPA Alberta

If you have any questions regarding sponsorship or registration please contact Winifred Uwakwe, CPAA Secretary at 780-432-6387 or at <u>cpaa@cpaa.biz</u>.

COMMUNITY PLANNING ASSOCIATION OF ALBERTA Our mission is to provide opportunities to share, promote and encourage community planning among a full range of stakeholders.

CONTACT

Winifred Uwakwe CPAA Secretary

600, 900 - 6 Ave SW Calgary, AB T2P 3K2-T2P 3K2 Canada

Phone: (780) 432.6387 Fax: (780) 452.7718 E-mail: cpaa@cpaa.biz

CONNECT

Follow us <u>@C_P_A_A</u>

y

Click here to <u>unsubscribe</u> from this mailing list.